A Name

I recently received a gift. It was beautifully packaged and gratefully given. I could tell it was something very valuable before I opened it.

I was a little surprised to see that it was quite simple. A pretty necklace. I love the color. Nothing flashy. On closer inspection I saw it had a name. Tiffany’s. I’ve heard that name, but I’m not sure what it means.

Today I was wearing the necklace and needed to take it off for a bit. The person helping me offered to do it. I mentioned it was new and the clasp was a little difficult for me. Once it was off, her tone of voice went from light chatter to awestruck “Oh, it’s from Tiffany’s.” Apparently the name means more than I realized.

I appreciate this little necklace because it is a gift, and a color I like, and because of the giver. I’ve heard of its name, but I clearly don’t understand what it means.

At the end of next week it will be the Christmas season. I think this little necklace has caused me to think about names at just the right time. A lot of people will hear the name “Jesus” next month. They might have a sense of its value, and surely they have heard it before. It just seems a bit small and simple to them. A baby named Jesus.

I’ve known about Jesus my whole life. As an adult, I have come to understand that his name has a great deal of meaning. It means everything.

So when I am faced with the realization that I don’t understand the meaning of “Tiffany’s,” I think I start to understand what it might be like for someone who doesn’t understand the meaning of “Jesus.” It must feel strange to realize that people around you get it, and you don’t. I never thought of it that way before.

Christmas isn’t just gifts from Santa and a baby in a manger. It is God becoming man. It’s a really big deal. It doesn’t come in a pretty box with a big white bow, but it is a gift. A really valuable gift.

I’m going to google something after I post this. I would like to know more about the meaning of the name on my gift. I hope that if the name “Jesus” is something of a mystery to you, that you will be even more curious about that.

“There is power in the name of Jesus.”

“Jesus is the reason for the season.”

“At the name of Jesus, every knee will bow…”

“Jesus saves.”

“Jesus loves you.”

“She will bear a son, and you shall call his name Jesus, for he will save his people from their sins.”

It isn’t just a name. It means something. Something very costly. It is a gift that can be yours.

Leave a comment